News & Announcements Archive

March for Science Information

The March for Science is an international movement that was organized due to the realization by people across the world who value science in their lives that staying silent is no longer an option. Marches are being planned across the United States and internationally.

Congratulations Sarah Kim!

PMB graduate student Sarah Kim is winner of the annual Biophysical Society’s Student Research Achievement Award for her poster in the category¬†Permeation & Transport.¬†

Diversity Innovation Grant proposal funds Women of Hopkins Art Exhibition

The Women of Hopkins exhibit grew from a grassroots effort at Johns Hopkins called Achieving Gender Equity in Sciences, a reading and discussion series exploring biases women face in the STEM fields. As part of the effort, PMB Professor Karen Fleming participated in the Diversity Innovation Grant competition aiming to increase the awareness of female heroes from Hopkins and was awarded funding for the Women of Hopkins Art Exhibition.

Welcome New Students

The 2016 PMB incoming graduate class is here! On September 9-10, the students participated in the 25th annual Institute for Biophysical Research retreat. What an exciting time!

Dr. Scott Bailey Receives $250,000 President’s Frontier Award

Johns Hopkins University President Ronald J. Daniels (left) presents the President's Frontier Award to Scott Bailey.
Scott Bailey, an associate professor in the Bloomberg School of Public Health's Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, explores how bacteria's immune systems ward off threat posed by harmful viruses. Read the article on The Hub.

Welcome, Dr. Sua Myong

sua myong
PMB welcomes Dr. Sua Myong. Dr. Myong's work focuses on single molecule and single cell imaging to investigate regulations in gene expression.

PMB Alum Wins Outstanding Young Scientist Award

The Maryland Academy of Sciences at the Maryland Science Center presented PMB alum Dr. Lauren Porter the 2015 Outstanding Young Scientist Award in the Academic sector.

Biophysicist Taekjip Ha Joins PMB

Dr. Ha is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Biophysics and Biophysical Chemistry, Biophysics, and Biomedical Engineering.

Prof. Karen Fleming Awarded 2016 Thomas E. Thompson Award

Congratulations to PMB Professor Karen Fleming who received the 2016 Thomas E. Thompson Award, which recognizes outstanding contribution in the field of membrane structure and assembly! The award will be presented at the Membrane Structure and Assembly Subgroup meeting on February 27, 2016, in L.A., where Professor Fleming will present the Thomas E. Thompson award lecture.